Toyota Safety Sense vs. Honda Sensing – Which is Best?

January 17th, 2019 by

Why Choose Toyota Safety Sense?

Toyota believes that “Crash protection starts with crash prevention”, which is why they offer Toyota Safety Sense at no cost on nearly every new Toyota model. From adaptive cruise control to pre-collision braking, there are a variety of technologies available today to keep you and your family safe.

Toyota Safety Sense and Honda Sensing are both reliable, trustworthy safety systems designed to keep you and your passengers safe. While Honda Sensing comes standard on some models, many models only offer the safety suite on top-tier trim levels, requiring an extra cost. TSS, on the other hand, comes standard at no cost on every eligible Toyota model.

Additionally, Toyota is continuously improving and adding new features to Toyota Safety Sense, making sure safety is the top priority when it comes to their stellar line-up. As of the 2018 model year, Toyota has the most IIHS Top Safety Pick Plus awards, making TSS an even more reliable source of safety on the road.

Camry and Avalon

What is Toyota Safety Sense?

Toyota Safety Sense (TSS) is a suite of advanced safety features designed to keep you safe behind the wheel.  TSS addresses the three most common accident types: frontal collisions, unintended lane departures and nighttime accidents. Safety Sense comes in three different packages – Toyota Safety Sense C (TSS-C), Toyota Safety Sense P (TSS-P) and the newly added Toyota Safety Sense 2.0 (TSS-2.0 – if you haven’t already guessed). As of the 2017 model year, TSS is available on most new Toyota vehicles (excluding certain models like 4Runner and 86). Learn more about each TSS safety suite:

What is Toyota Safety Sense C?

TSS-C covers the basics with a pre-collision system, automatic high beams and lane departure alert. To learn more about each of these features, visit our Toyota Safety Sense informational page.

What is Toyota Safety Sense P?

TSS-P takes the standard automatic high beams, lane departure alert and pre-collision system found in TSS-C and adds some improvements. With TSS-P, the Lane Departure Alert system comes with Steering Assist, and the Pre-Collision System is able to detect pedestrians. Additionally, TSS-P adds Dynamic Radar Cruise Control to the mix. Learn more about these features.

What is Toyota Safety Sense 2.0?

The newest addition to the TSS lineup is TSS 2.0. First introduced in the Corolla Hatchback, TSS 2.0 comes standard with all of the great features of TSS-P, and adds Road Sign Assist and Lane Tracing Assist. Learn more about these features.

Toyota Safety Sense Toyota Safety Sense

Which vehicles come with standard Toyota Safety Sense?

Toyota Safety Sense comes standard on:

What is Honda Sensing?

Similar to Toyota Safety Sense, Honda Sensing is a package of safety features including a Collision Mitigation Braking System, Road Departure Mitigation System, Adaptive Cruise Control, Lane Keeping Assist System and Traffic Sign Recognition. Unlike TSS, Honda Sensing does not always come standard. Many Honda vehicles require a more expensive trim level in order to reap the benefits of Honda Sensing.

Which vehicles come standard with Honda Sensing?

  • 2019 Civic
  • 2019 Accord
  • 2019 Insight
  • 2019 Pilot
  • 2019 Clarity

All other models require a premium trim level for Honda Sensing.

Have more questions about Toyota Safety Sense or Honda Sensing? Leave us a comment!

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Posted in Driving Safely